Language Selector

    New ERC President

    Published on 17 December 2013
    Author: Katja Wirth

    The European Commission announced today the new ERC president:
    Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon

    Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon will become the new President of the European Research Council as of 1 January 2014. His mandate is for four years. Prof. Bourguignon will be the first ERC President to be based in Brussels and to cover the previous role of ERC Secretary General. 

    The actual president, Prof. Helga Nowotny, took office as ERC President in March 2010 and her mandate ends at the close of 2013. Prof. Donald Dingwell’s mandate as ERC Secretary General started in September 2010 and ends at the close of 2013.

    Further Information